Inside the mind of a master procrastinator | Tim Urban

My rational decision maker has figured out what not to bet my hard work on. Since 99% of everything is crap(sturgeon’s law), almost everything is not worth working hard on.

It is easy to tell if an endeavor would fail as soon as you start doing it. But I just attempt them anyway (with procrastination) in the hopes that it will help me built a relationship with the teammates I fail with. I don’t. Failure results in teammates hating each other and looking for scapegoats, and my personality (and procrastination) is ideal for scapegoating.

So I kept getting scapegoated and I moved on until I realized I am more productive if I attempt the simplest possible endeavor which requires the least amount of teamwork (so as to avoid scapegoating and also cost of failure). But by then I had also realized there are more idiots willing to part with their money by investing in sure-fail ideas. So I work for such idiots and their small teams and try to avoid being scapegoated which procrastinating. I think this is the optimal solution.

I do not need an instant gratification monkey. But since life is what happens when you are making other plans, some amount of instant gratification is necessary to enjoy this short life.

Leave a Reply

