:s/God/I/g makes sense

According to some fMRI study I read, when believers say what God wants, the part that lights up is the part that lights up when they say what they want. This is why when people say God, they end up meaning them. This is why everyone’s God wants exactly the same thing they want.

Consider this recent quote I heard from a believer:

well ive just given it up all to God, i trust him o do whats best for us….
so we do what feel like doing and pray to God to make it work only if
it’ll be good for us!

Now substitute the word God for I:

well ive just given it up all to I, i trust him o do whats best for us….
so we do what feel like doing and pray to I to make it work only if
it’ll be good for us!

In other words they mean this:

well ive just given it up all to me, i trust me o do whats best for us….
so we do what feel like doing and pray to myself to make it work only if
it’ll be good for us!

Consider another quote:

I don’t sense the presence of God with me in this endeavor.

This is another way of saying:

I don’t sense the presence of me with me in this endeavor.

which means:

I don’t want to do this.

Thus the believer is continually wishing for the abdication of personal responsibility. They do this by conjuring up a primacy of consciousness metaphysics. I don’t think this is a bug in the human psyche. In fact I think this is just an unwanted side effect of vastly beneficial feature: volitional consciousness.

Listen to what John Galt says in Atlas Shrugged:

Man’s mind is his basic tool of survival. Life is given to him, survival is not. His body is given to him, its sustenance is not. His mind is given to him, its content is not. To remain alive, he must act, and before he can act he must know the nature and purpose of his action. He cannot obtain his food without a knowledge of food and of the way to obtain it. He cannot dig a ditch—or build a cyclotron—without a knowledge of his aim and of the means to achieve it. To remain alive, he must think.
But to think is an act of choice. The key to what you so recklessly call ‘human nature,’ the open secret you live with, yet dread to name, is the fact that man is a being of volitional consciousness. Reason does not work automatically; thinking is not a mechanical process; the connections of logic are not made by instinct. The function of your stomach, lungs or heart is automatic; the function of your mind is not. In any hour and issue of your life, you are free to think or to evade that effort. But you are not free to escape from your nature, from the fact that reason is your means of survival— so that for you, who are a human being, the question ‘to be or not to be’ is the question ‘to think or not to think.’

The key to truth is: personal responsibility & volition as the cause of your actions & its consequences. Take credit for what you earned. Accept no unearned or undeserved guilt.

Thus I have discovered the acid test to distinguish a parasite from a man: See if he continually tries to abdicate personal responsibility and volition. See if he seeks the unearned and the undeserved.

Vi veri universum vivus vici.

Leave a Reply

