Git Havoc

In spite of telling my professor about the advantages of having 3 different repositories for Documentation, Web Application and Backend, He still stuck with his CVSish idea of one repository. To make matters worse, he made 3 branches(!) in the repository for Documentation, Web Application and Backend. Since the Web Application branch needs to make calls to the Backend branch and Since I cannot checkout 2 branches simultaneously in my local clone of professors repository, I cloned professors repository thrice. So I have 3 local repositories and I checked out Documentation in one repository, Web Application in the second repository and Backend code in the last repository and so now I can have Web Application call the Backend. I have been developing now for a few days, and I have kept committing to my local repositories the respective branches I checked out in each of them.

Now it is real hard to submit everything to professors repository. Since I’ve made tonnes of changes to my 3 local repositories with one of the 3 branches checked out in each of them. I am planning to clone a 4th local repository and pull stuff into it from the first 3. Then I will use the 4th clone to make a patch and then I will submit it to all 3 of profs repository’s branches and ask him to redo his repository.

Leave a Reply

