CalikoKat Is Gone

My favorite piano player on the Youtube: CalikoKat's account has been terminated, because his own personal piano arrangements of popular music was considered copyright infringement because it was too good and well played. I guess copyright infringement is only OK as long as your imitation is lousy and incompetent. As soon as it becomes too good, the internet police will take it down.

I guess the only way I can listen to his music now is by playing his sheet music with my own hands. But I am not nearly as good as he is :(
14 thoughts on “CalikoKat Is Gone

  1. he’s my fav player on youtube as well and this just sucks.. his camera positioning was perfect as well as was the quality… this is too bad. hope he can find another place to upload.

  2. This is for me the worst news of 2011 so far. He was my favourite player on youtube. Crap videos that deserve to be deleted stay on there and someone who really contributes something like CalikoKat gets suspended. Absolutely ridiculous and I hope he can upload his videos elsewhere. I play the piano as well and I learned a lot of songs by just looking at his vids and it will be missed.. CalikoKat should have his own website.

  3. Well, I was really sad with the news to, so I searched him everywhere (it’s how I ended up here, to), and after some time chasing information, I found the channel I mentionned in my last post, as well as a 4shared link to his music’s mp3′s: (http://www.4shared.com/file/169418391/57af8ec8/Now_We_Are_Free.html)
    If I’m not wrong, there are more than 500 vids available in his channel, and more than 700 mp3′s (with better sound quality) for free at his page on 4shared. Go take a look!
    Since is calikokat, it’s worth it.

    Ps.: If you had already seen all this, sorry for posting again… =x

  4. @Ipacz is the 4shared link still good? i clicked on it and it doesn’t seem to work for me… :( i’m beginning to wish i shoulda downloaded his renditions back when his old youtube was still alive… but the new youtube calikokat you shared, but I noticed this time around there’s no mention of where to download his covers :(

  5. @Ipacz is the 4shared link still good? i clicked on it and it doesn’t seem to work for me… i’m beginning to wish i shoulda downloaded his renditions back when his old youtube was still alive… but the new youtube calikokat you shared works fine, but I noticed this time around there’s no mention of where to download his covers

    @edwinjose I know how you feel! DEVASTATED!

  6. He has inspired me to pick up playing piano after a 20 year absense- I was never that good to begin with -but someone tell my wants wrong with being inspired to act to do something positive-i will miss him

  7. Hi …Im Calikokat…the piano player for the last 2 or 3 years on youtube
    Im still on youtube.. :)
    do a search on youtube for calikokat
    mp3 audios r gone cause of copyright violation…quality was too good……
    always love playing piano for youtubers and always will :)

    • hey sir james aka calikokat! i left a message for you in your channel. im not sure if you’re able to do that. can you email me please at shatrdrms@yahoo.com? my dad’s a huge fan and a bday greeting from you would really make his day. he adores you. thank you so much!!

    • Mr. James aka Calikokat,
      Out of all your artistic works, the one that I love the most and am trying to jot down the note for it is “Sunrise Sunset”. Your beautiful and artistic and soothing technique had inspired me to take a different approach @ playing piano. Thank you so much for all your work and best of luck in all aspects of your life.

  8. Dear Calikokat (James)
    Have you ever considered publishing your arrangements as sheet music. I’d pay serious money! so it seems would others. I am not good at playing by ear and would dearly love to get hold of the music……any chance? Failing that post some lessons so we can learn your technique.

    Many thanks

    John

Leave a Reply

